Skip to content

My first 3000 words paper.

December 10, 2011

aspiringarchitect

It has been almost a month now since I have been doing research for my essay which I’m writing about phenomenology. I have found a lot of books relating to this subject and the more I read the more I think it is so interesting!

While doing research I have read a lot about Steven Holl who is an architect based in New York. He is known for sensuous site cased constructions. This made me so curious! So I have decided, when going home (The Netherlands) for the holidays to visit  the SARPHATISTRAAT OFFICES designed by Steven Holl in Amsterdam.

The passage of time; light shadow and transparency; color phenomena, texture material and detail all participate in the complete experience of architecture.

— Steven Holl

Image: Sarphatistraat offices, Amsterdam by Steven Holl.

I am using this opportunity to make my essay more ‘active’ and write about my personal experience when visiting this building.
Next to my personal experience, I will also reflect on the theory and practice of phenomenology.

No comments yet

Leave a comment